An Experience That Helped Me Become A Successful Massage Therapist

www.MassageTherapySuccess.com

Exerpt taken from “Ignite Your Massage Therapy Business”.

When I first started my massage business I worked out of home and spent a lot of money on towels.  Oh! You should have seen those gorgeous towels – white, fluffy and perfect. They were just beautiful.

One day I had a new client coming for her first massage so I put the towels in the dryer before she arrived. (There is nothing worse than having cold towels put on you.)

While the towels were in the dryer I decided to pop out and pick up some tea and biscuits. Ten minutes later I came back, pulled up in my driveway and saw  black smoke pouring from underneath the front door. I panicked and called the fire brigade.

When the big burly firemen opened my door, we were hit with chemical smoke. My eyes started to water and my nose started running.  The firemen went into the smoke and pulled out my dryer!  They brought the dryer out onto the pavement, opened it and there they were, my heavenly white fluffy towels which now resembled pieces of burnt, still-flaming toast.  I had a client coming in ten minutes. It was a disaster.

Fortunately, I had some extra towels, but the firemen said I could not go back into my house for 48 hours. What was a girl to do?

I started to worry but then realized that worrying wasn’t going to help. I found a quiet corner, took a deep breath and used the ‘Cut And Cancel’ technique. I visualized my worry connecting me to the cosmos and then using my fingers like a scissor, I said, “Cut And Cancel!” This really helped me to calm down.

Then the client pulled up.  I tried to explain the problem but she kept insisting that she had an appointment booked. I really didn’t feel like I could Be in a positive frame of mind so I decided to just Act as though everything was OK.

This helped me to maintain my professionalism. Instead of falling into a heap, I offered to come to her house for the massage and gave her a $20 discount.

These simple positive affirmation techniques helped me though this disaster and I actually kept that client for years. I also ended up seeing her family and all her relatives.

On the path to becoming a successful Massage Therapist things won’t always go according to plan. If you keep your mind focused on your ultimate goal and free of clutter then when things like this happen, you can get through them relatively unscathed.

If you’d like to know more about becoming a successful Massage Therapist then visit www.MassageTherapySuccess.com

3 Responses to “An Experience That Helped Me Become A Successful Massage Therapist”


  1. 1 Wendi May 9, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    Thanks for sharing this expoerience Amy, I think it’s great you are sharing your wisdom.

  2. 2 Adriana July 20, 2013 at 12:02 am

    Thanks for your help and exeprtise Amy.

  3. 3 ruthieacevedo79200 April 10, 2016 at 10:40 am

    Muahaha por fin la encuentro mi amiga Francia,usted ya me olvido,pues no podia entrar a su blog y por Sheik 2 lo logre ,espero venga a visitarme algun Click http://tu2s.in/searchll100830


Leave a Reply

