How To Give Better Massage Treatments- Knowing Your Massage Therapy Trigger Points

tp_upper_trapezius3.jpg

Picture courtesy of www.aidmyheadache.com

 

I’ve done a hell of a lot of massage treatments, built my practice up from nothing to having staff and doing corporate events and I can honest put my success down to three things. The first is vision. I always had the vision to grow and nurture a very successful massage business. The second is marketing- you can’t reach out to people if A) they don’t know about you and B) you don’t show them that you can help them. The third thing that I can honest attribute my success to is customer service. So what’s this got to do with trigger point massage you ask? Everything!

To explain the massage “success” factor, I have to explain the link between excellent, A1, customer service and trigger point massage. You see the two, for me, were the same thing.

In the mid 90’s I graduated with flying colours from the Southern School of Natural Therapies. It was then that I did my training in just your general, relaxation & Swedish massage. That’s right, no whiz bang qualifications, I had basic knowledge. But I had more clients than people who trained at their Remedial and advanced qualifications. Why was this? I was not a smarted massage therapist, no better qualified massage and not a better looking massage therapist! But I knew two things; trigger point massage and marketing.

The two combined together were like a dynamic explosion of happiness, prosperity and a fabulous income so I could make a comfortable life doing what I deeply loved; massage therapy.

I had studied trigger point massage at college. But before that I knew where to massage on my clients bodies intuitively, even before I started massage. It was like I was born to do this.

I felt the trigger points before anyone told me what they were. And so when I started massage usually the client would say “there! Right there! Amy, can you push on that spot?”

Releasing the trigger point was on of the things that got my clients coming back. They experienced relief from my massage so fast because I attended to these trigger points in the first session. Relieving the triggers points left them feeling able to do what they could not do for years.

I was able to give frozen should clients back a lot of mobility they had lost too. One lady who came to see me, who was in her 70’s, had not been able to brush the back of her hair with her right arm for over ten years. She had “been everywhere” but had no relief. In just three massage treatments I was able to deactivate the trigger points stopping her muscles working and she could brush her hair again.

Seems like a miracle? Not at all. Its really simple. You see a series of locked up muscles with active trigger points restricted her ability for complete mobilization of her rotator shoulder muscles.

This was 100% good customer services as far as I was concerned. In my mind, my massage business was focused on servicing my clients. And that included giving them what they wanted- mobility without pain.

As soon as word got out that I was able to help people who had “been everywhere” I was getting busier and busier. I was known for giving a deep, firm massage and causing pain sometimes but getting amazing results. I applied this with some sound marketing techniques, which was one of the reasons why I was able to build my massage business at light speed.

The massage is up to you, so make sure you learn some degree of trigger point massage in your massage practice; clients will love you for it.

Amy Roberts

5 Responses to “How To Give Better Massage Treatments- Knowing Your Massage Therapy Trigger Points”


  1. 1 Illiana July 2, 2013 at 12:22 am

    Amy I have only ever done soft tissue therapy, is there anyway I can learn deep tissue and trigger point?

  2. 3 George July 18, 2013 at 6:05 am

    I always use a trigger point therapy on my clients and they love it. I find it relieves a great many things that are not helped by other methods.

  3. 4 Max September 2, 2013 at 1:11 pm

    Excellent info Amy, thanks.

  4. 5 stress level July 6, 2014 at 10:06 am

    Wow, fantastic blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your website
    is excellent, let alone the content!


Leave a Reply

